Rec., 7 ch. 13, 1934

ENROLLED BILL

(SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION, 1933)

House Bill No. 53

(By Mr. Smith)

Passed February 8th 1934

In Effect From Passage

Originated in the Contract of the Contract of

ENROLLED BILL

(Com. Sub. for H. B. No. 53)

[Passed February 8, 1934; in effect from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections one, two and five, article two, chapter eleven of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, relating to assessors, their deputies, assistants and employees and payment of their compensation.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That sections one, two and five, article two, chapter eleven of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, be and they are hereby amended and reenacted so as to read as follows:

Section 1. Each county in this state shall constitute one as-2 sessment district and shall elect one assessor, whose term of office 3 shall be four years. The assessors now in office shall serve until 4 the expiration of the term for which they were elected, and their 5 successors shall be elected at the general election of one thou-6 sand nine hundred thirty-six and every four years thereafter.

CORRECTLY ENROLLED

CORRECTLY ENROLLED

Chairman House Committee.

7 No person shall be eligible to the office of assessor who is not 8 a resident of the county at the time of his election. The assess-9 or's office, properly equipped at the county seat, shall be kept 10 open throughout the year.

Sec. 2. The assessor in every county shall select his deputies, 2 assistants and other employees in the same manner as is pro3 vided for the selection of deputies, assistants and employees of 4 sheriffs and clerks of courts, and their salaries shall be fixed 5 in the manner provided by section seven, article seven, chap6 ter seven of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hun7 dred thirty-one.

Sec. 5. The annual salary of the assessor in each county 2 shall be as follows: Barbour county, one thousand eight hundred 3 dollars; Berkeley county, one thousand eight hundred dollars; 4 Boone county, one thousand eight hundred dollars; Braxton 5 county, one thousand six hundred twenty dollars; Brooke 6 county, one thousand six hundred twenty dollars; Cabell coun-7 ty, two thousand eight hundred eighty dollars; Calhoun county, 8 one thousand two hundred dollars; Clay county, one thousand 9 four hundred forty dollars; Doddridge county, one thousand 10 four hundred forty dollars; Fayette county, two thousand eight

There is

Thairman Senate Committee,

Chairman House Committee.

Committee,

Thairman Senate

Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. No. 53] 3

11 hundred dollars; Gilmer county, one thousand six hundred 12 twenty dollars; Grant county, one thousand dollars; Green-13 brier county, one thousand six hundred twenty dollars; Hamp-14 shire county, one thousand four hundred forty dollars; Hancock 15 county, one thousand eight hundred seventy dollars; Hardy 16 county, one thousand three hundred fifty dollars; Harrison 17 county, three thousand two hundred dollars; Jackson county, 18 one thousand three hundred fifty dollars; Jefferson county, one 19 thousand eight hundred dollars; Kanawha county, four thou-20 sand dollars; Lewis county, two thousand two hundred ninety-21 five dollars; Lincoln county, one thousand eight hundred dollars; 22 Logan county, two thousand five hundred fifty dollars; Marion 23 county, two thousand five hundred fifty dollars; Marshall coun-24 ty, two thousand forty dollars; Mason county, one thousand 25 eight hundred dollars; Mercer county, two thousand eight hun-26 dred eighty dollars; Mineral county, one thousand eight hun-27 dred dollars; Mingo county, two thousand three hundred eighty 28 dollars; Monongalia county, two thousand forty dollars; Monroe 29 county, one thousand three hundred fifty dollars: McDowell 30 county, two thousand eight hundred eighty dollars; Morgan 31 county, one thousand two hundred dollars; Nicholas county, one

ance L. Smith

Chairman House Committee.

Chairman Senate Committee,

32 thousand six hundred twenty dollars: Ohio county, two thousand 33 eight hundred eighty dollars: Pendleton county, one thousand 34 three hundred fifty dollars; Pleasants county, one thousand two 35 hundred dollars; Pocahontas county, one thousand two hundred 36 dollars; Preston county, two thousand two hundred ten dollars; 37 Putnam county, one thousand eight hundred dollars; Raleigh 38 county, two thousand five hundred fifty dollars; Randolph 39 county, two thousand forty dollars: Ritchie county, one thou-40 sand four hundred forty dollars; Roane county, one thousand 41 six hundred twenty dollars; Summers county, one thousand 42 three hundred fifty dollars; Taylor county, one thousand six 43 hundred twenty dollars; Tucker county, one thousand four hun-44 dred forty dollars; Tyler county, one thousand seven hundred 45 ten dollars; Upshur county, one thousand eight hundred seventy 46 dollars; Wayne county, two thousand two hundred ten dollars; 47 Webster county, one thousand three hundred fifty dollars; Wet-48 zel county, two thousand two hundred ten dollars; Wirt county, 49 one thousand one hundred dollars; Wood county, one thousand 50 seven hundred eighty-five dollars; Wyoming county, one thou-51 sand five hundred thirty dollars.

. Smith

Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. No. 53] 5

52 In addition to the above salary, each assessor shall receive a

53 commission of ten per cent on all state school, road and munici-

54 pal capitation taxes collected by him.

55 The salaries of assessors and their deputies, assistants and

56 employees shall be paid out of the county fund at the time and

57 in the manner now provided by law for paying other county

58 officers.

Thairman Senate Committee.

59 All acts or parts of acts in conflict or inconsistent herewith

69 are hereby repealed.

| | | 6 [Enr. Com. Sub. 10r H. D. No. 95 |
|--------------------|----------------------------|---|
| | Chairman Senate Committee, | Speaker of the House of Delegates. the House of Delegates. |
| CORRECTLY ENROLLED | | President of the Senate. |
| CORRECT | Chairman House Committee. | Clerk of the Senate. |
| | | 2 |
| | this | day of Governor. |
| | Secretary of State | |